All of your work in Kumu takes place in a project. A project can have any number of maps and views within it.
All of the data is stored at the project level. Think of the project as the overall "bucket" within which any data you add or import is stored.
Access is controlled at the project level, meaning you invite collaborators to a project rather than individual maps.
Maps are a collection of elements and connections. They essentially include a subset of the overall project data and specify basic settings:
- Whether elements are positioned manually or automatically
- Whether connections are directed by default
- What the default view is
Views are a collection of decorations and settings which control what the map looks like and what is visible. Views include filters, focus, decorations, and settings.
When you delete an element from a map, it doesn't delete it from the entire project but rather just removes the element from that map. Once an element has been deleted from every map, it then ends up in the trash. You can access the trash via the menu in the upper left of your map. If you are trying to delete content from your entire project, make sure to empty the trash after you've deleted content from your map to ensure that content isn't re-used on a future import.